Marshall Blume Prize


The late Marshall Blume, Howard Butcher III Professor Emeritus of Financial Management; Professor Emeritus of Finance

The Marshall Blume Prizes in Financial Research were established in 2011 to honor the late Marshall Blume (Center Director from 1986 – 2010) upon his retirement from the Wharton Finance Department after over 40 years of service. The Prizes are funded exclusively by the generosity of Mr. Bruce Terker, W’76, WG’78, a former student of Marshall Blume and longtime benefactor of the Center.

The Marshall Blume Prizes in Financial Research are awarded annually to the best Wharton (unpublished) working papers in financial economics written during the prior calendar year. First prize is $10,000, and honorable mentions collectively receive $5,000.


2020 Marshall Blume Prizes



The Financial Origins of the Rise and Fall of American Inflation

Itamar Drechsler, Alexi Savov, Philipp Schnabl


Can the Covid Bailouts Save the Economy?
Tim Landvoigt, Vadim Elenev, Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh

CLO Performance
Michael R. Roberts, Michael Schwert, Larry Cordell